Py4J Backlog, Bytes, and Open Source

Since my Ph.D. thesis is being printed right now, I thought I could give a status update on Py4J.

One Py4J contributor/user reported a problem with how Py4J handles byte arrays almost a year ago. Because Py4J was treating byte arrays as any other arrays (i.e., a reference), access to individual cells in the arrays were costly (one roundtrip per access). Byte arrays are special beasts because when you go down to the level of bytes, you usually want the raw power and the hanging rope that come with it: you certainly don’t want the programming language or a particular library to stand in your way. Because Py4J uses a String protocol (e.g., newlines are used as separators), transferring raw bytes would require a lot of modifications and would introduce a special case that would need more code than the usual case.

I thus implemented a naive solution that just shifted the byte by 8 bit, to make sure that I could still use my dear newlines. The same person came back at me a few months later though, and introduced me to the concept of UTF-16 surrogates and how Java did not like these special pairs of characters, even in UTF-8, the default encoding for Py4J.

I boosted the priority of this issue, but because I had started a new job and I was trying to finish my thesis during the weekends (advice: this is the fastest way to end up in an asylum), I did not have the time nor the strength to find a solution. Fortunately, a contributor from The Atlantic made a nice Christmas present to Py4J users: he implemented a fix using Base64 and opened a pull request. I merged the pull request in January, but I’m still fighting with some test glitches caused by the difference between Python 2 and Python 3. The Open Source community has been very kind to me and I have been fortunate to receive significant contributions from Py4J users in the past (Python 3 support anyone?). Because I am working for a company that is sympathetic to open source contributions, I will make sure in the near future that the effort behind the various Py4J patches were not in vain.

There are currently 5 open issues that I need to close before releasing 0.8, but all issues have some work in progress so I am confident that I will go through this backlog soon. After that, I will try to come back to a regular release cycle.

One thought on “Py4J Backlog, Bytes, and Open Source”

  1. Dear Sir, I have been developing using Py4j since Feb 2013. And it is extreamly good tool for me. But today, I found one problem. I have a Java function that return string, and I call that function from my Python program, but the string transfer was very slow when the string size was big such as 20KB. When the size was 1 MB, it took few minutes before python side could use. What is the problem actually ?

Leave a Reply

